Normal is boring.

 I officially made it through the first week of school! It was only 2 ½ days, but it counts.

 I’m back to being surrounded by tiny people who rarely have their shoes tied, occasionally have their fingers inserted in their noses, and can’t go more than seven second without asking a question- unless, of course, you specifically ask them for questions, in which case they answer with comments, usually beginning with “one time…”

 I couldn’t be happier. I missed this. I missed being around kids. I like them better than most grownups. I was thinking about this today as I watched my new bunch. They’re pretty awesome. Cute, nice, like to hug me, funny. As I’m watching them at the end of the day, thinking about how happy I am to be around them, I started to actually note what they were doing.

Armpit farting sounds. Wadding up pieces of paper and pretending they’re pets, complete with brushing, feeding, and petting. Comparing scabs. Tying pigtails to chair legs. Yup, these are the humans I most enjoy being around. 

I’m getting use to them (they’re a lot younger than my last bunch), and they’re getting used to me. After a few days of eyeing them and not saying anything, they finally asked about my tattoos. 

“Are they real?” ‘Like, the really real kind, or the ones that stay on a whole week?” “Are they on forever?” “What about if you used really strong soap, and scrubbed really hard?” “If you get a cut, does the ink leak out?” “Did it hurt?” And my favorite, “Did your mom get mad at you?”

Out at recess later, I had to call one particularly energetic little guy over to tell him to stop climbing the fence. At one point during my long winded reasons on why that wasn’t safe, I apparently called him dude. As he was heading back to play, he came back towards me and asked, “Did you call me dude?” I told him, yeah, I do that sometimes. “That’s not normal.” He calmly informed me. I shrugged. “That’s ok. Normal is boring anyway. I like you.” And he ran off, probably to climb a fence. 

I think it’s gonna be a good year.

One response to “Normal is boring.

  1. Reminds me of something a kid told me once. I have a service dog, so I get a lot of attention from children. A young man (maybe 6 years old) came skateboarding by, but stopped to chat. As he was leaving, I noticed he had on a helmet and pads everywhere, so I said, “Be safe!”

    He stopped, turned and looked at me, rolled his eyes, and in the most disgusted voice imaginable said, “You can’t be safe and ride a skateboard!” As he skated away, I realized that he’d given me one of the most important pieces of life-advice I’d ever received.

Leave a Reply

