New Year

Oops. I forgot to write for four months.

Ok, I didn’t forget. I just kept putting it off, and putting it off, and putting it off. It’s been a busy few months! 

Then Sandy Hook happened. I wrote a few paragraphs, over and over. I kept deleting, rewriting. Trying to put into words the overwhelming combination of feelings. Rage, grief, fear. Above all, the primal feeling that if anyone tried to hurt my kids, I would go for their throat with my teeth, regardless of what weapon they held. I sat in front of the computer screen, and I just couldn’t do it. Couldn’t put it into words.

We’re back from vacation now. It’s our second day. I want to keep writing here. Partly because I really enjoy sharing the absolute insanity of my kids, and all of their wonderful goofy weirdness. Partly because I believe that by putting a positive out into the world- a celebration of all that is good about children; an acknowledgement of the joy they bring me- I counteract the sadness and evil that’s out there, just a little bit.

Here is to 2013. 

Leave a Reply

