Things Children Said to me While Getting on the Bus

Ranked in order from nicest to creepiest.

“Bye bye, pretty teacher!”  I needed that one. I’d been asked by several students and colleagues if I was sick, or tired, or both.

“Have a good night, Susan!” My name is not Susan. My name is not at all similar to Susan. In fact, I don’t think anyone named Susan works in this building.

“Just so you know, nothing is true. Not even Santa, and not even the universe.” My guess is someone recently learned a painful Christmas truth and had his faith in EVERYTHING shaken.

“I’m going to put a french fry in your butt.” This is response to being repeatedly told not to yank of other peoples backpacks. 

Leave a Reply

